Difference between revisions of "Power BI - Other Features"

From SynWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
(5 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
−
Overview
+
== Filters ==
 +
Filters are a method of isolating only desired data. Filters can be set on the basis of any column in the dataset. For example, by adding a filter here:
 +
[[File:Power BI - Other Features - Filter tab screenshot.png|center|thumb|487x487px]]
 +
The data can be filtered on a specific visual, page, or all the pages. By adding the date filter, you can isolate all the data between specific dates, after/before a reference, or in the last x amount time.
 +
 
 +
== Bookmarks ==
 +
Bookmarks are a method of saving specific filters for later use. Bookmarks can be activated using buttons, found in the "Insert" tab. The bookmark tab can be found in the view tab.
 +
[[File:Power BI - Other Features - Bookmark Tab gif.gif|center|thumb|860x860px]]
 +
Bookmarks are useful for, for example, if you wanted a button that shows the data from the last week and another button that shows the data from the last month. You can have a bookmark for each, activated by buttons.
 +
 
 +
== Publishing ==
 +
[[File:Power BI - Other Features - Publish Button Screenshot.png|thumb|490x490px|The Publish Button]]
 +
Using the "Publish" button in the Home tab, the report can be sent to your workspace. From there, it can be shared to other users. Another feature of sharing to workspace, is it can now be accessed by programs like MS Teams and MS Power Automate. Note: When a report is published to the cloud, the dataset is also published. This means that just refreshing the data in the desktop version will not update the published version, this one needs to be refreshed separately. This can also be set to refresh automatically daily.
 +
 
 +
 
 +
After publishing it to your Power BI workspace, you can find it on the online version of Power BI. To publish it to MS Teams, navigate to the team that you would like to display it to. Next, you can create a Power BI tab using the addition sign at the top of the page.
 +
[[File:Power BI - Other Features - Create a Power BI tab gif.gif|center|thumb|1078x1078px]]
 +
Teams will then ask you for a Power BI link. This can be found by pressing the "share" button then the "copy link" button on Power BI online. You can also manage permissions here. By default, anybody in Synergy can view and share the link.
 +
[[File:Power BI - Other Features - Finding Power BI share link gif.gif|center|thumb|1063x1063px]]
 +
After pasting this link into MS teams, your report will be available to see in Teams.
 
[[Category:Power BI]]
 
[[Category:Power BI]]
 
[[Category:Estimating]]
 
[[Category:Estimating]]

Latest revision as of 22:48, 29 June 2023

Filters

Filters are a method of isolating only desired data. Filters can be set on the basis of any column in the dataset. For example, by adding a filter here:

Power BI - Other Features - Filter tab screenshot.png

The data can be filtered on a specific visual, page, or all the pages. By adding the date filter, you can isolate all the data between specific dates, after/before a reference, or in the last x amount time.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks are a method of saving specific filters for later use. Bookmarks can be activated using buttons, found in the "Insert" tab. The bookmark tab can be found in the view tab.

Power BI - Other Features - Bookmark Tab gif.gif

Bookmarks are useful for, for example, if you wanted a button that shows the data from the last week and another button that shows the data from the last month. You can have a bookmark for each, activated by buttons.

Publishing

The Publish Button

Using the "Publish" button in the Home tab, the report can be sent to your workspace. From there, it can be shared to other users. Another feature of sharing to workspace, is it can now be accessed by programs like MS Teams and MS Power Automate. Note: When a report is published to the cloud, the dataset is also published. This means that just refreshing the data in the desktop version will not update the published version, this one needs to be refreshed separately. This can also be set to refresh automatically daily.


After publishing it to your Power BI workspace, you can find it on the online version of Power BI. To publish it to MS Teams, navigate to the team that you would like to display it to. Next, you can create a Power BI tab using the addition sign at the top of the page.

Power BI - Other Features - Create a Power BI tab gif.gif

Teams will then ask you for a Power BI link. This can be found by pressing the "share" button then the "copy link" button on Power BI online. You can also manage permissions here. By default, anybody in Synergy can view and share the link.

Power BI - Other Features - Finding Power BI share link gif.gif

After pasting this link into MS teams, your report will be available to see in Teams.