Difference between revisions of "Converting PDF to Excel"
Carsen der (talk | contribs) |
Carsen der (talk | contribs) |
||
| (2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown) | |||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
| − | + | oConverting a PDF file to an Excel file is very useful for entering data. | |
Firstly, the PDF file should be exported as a PNG. With the PDF open in Adobe Acrobat, click on file, the hover over "Export To" → "Image" → "PNG" and click. | Firstly, the PDF file should be exported as a PNG. With the PDF open in Adobe Acrobat, click on file, the hover over "Export To" → "Image" → "PNG" and click. | ||
[[File:Converting PDF to Excel - PDF to PNG gif.gif|center|thumb|1018x1018px]]A location for saving may be selected. Please note that it creates a separate PNG file for each page in the PDF so an empty folder should be created before this step. | [[File:Converting PDF to Excel - PDF to PNG gif.gif|center|thumb|1018x1018px]]A location for saving may be selected. Please note that it creates a separate PNG file for each page in the PDF so an empty folder should be created before this step. | ||
| + | |||
| + | Next, open a blank Excel file. Click on the "Page Layout" button in the bottom right. | ||
| + | [[File:Converting PDF to Excel - Page Layout Excel Screenshot.png|center|thumb|1045x1045px]] | ||
| + | Now, enter the header and press "Picture" in the "Header and Footer" tab. Click "From a file" and navigate to where the PNG photos are stored. Click the first page and click "Open" | ||
| + | [[File:Converting PDF to Excel - Inserting Header Picture gif.gif|center|thumb|1041x1041px]] | ||
| + | [[File:Convert PDF to Excel - Page Orientation Screenshot .png|thumb|543x543px]] | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | Next, click "Format Picture", set the height to 70% and click "Ok". When you click out of the header, the image should appear. You may change the page orientation to "Portrait" in the "Page Layout" tab as well. Should you prefer this, the height of the picture should be set to 90%. To adjust the height of the picture again, click back into the (now invisible) header and click "Format Picture". | ||
| + | [[File:Converting PDF to Excel - Formatting Header Picture gif.gif|center|thumb|1042x1042px]]IMPORTANT: After each page is added, add a piece of text somewhere on the page and colour it white. Excel will not print the page if there is no text. This text is best placed in the top left corner. | ||
| + | [[File:Convert PDF to Excel - Placing Text Gif.gif|center|thumb|1039x1039px]] | ||
| + | The final step is to align the Excel box with the lines on the picture. This can be done by changing the size of the cells on the left side and top of the window. | ||
| + | [[File:Convert PDF to Excel - Changing Cell Size gif.gif|center|thumb|1038x1038px]] | ||
| + | Now, these steps can be repeated for each page that needs to be added. Make a new worksheet for each new page. To print to PDF, click "File", "Save as Adobe PDF" and save the entire workbook. Click "Convert to PDF" and save to a location. | ||
| + | [[File:Convert PDF to Excel - Saving as PDF gif.gif|center|thumb|1024x1024px]] | ||
Latest revision as of 19:20, 24 July 2023
oConverting a PDF file to an Excel file is very useful for entering data.
Firstly, the PDF file should be exported as a PNG. With the PDF open in Adobe Acrobat, click on file, the hover over "Export To" → "Image" → "PNG" and click.
A location for saving may be selected. Please note that it creates a separate PNG file for each page in the PDF so an empty folder should be created before this step.
Next, open a blank Excel file. Click on the "Page Layout" button in the bottom right.
Now, enter the header and press "Picture" in the "Header and Footer" tab. Click "From a file" and navigate to where the PNG photos are stored. Click the first page and click "Open"
Next, click "Format Picture", set the height to 70% and click "Ok". When you click out of the header, the image should appear. You may change the page orientation to "Portrait" in the "Page Layout" tab as well. Should you prefer this, the height of the picture should be set to 90%. To adjust the height of the picture again, click back into the (now invisible) header and click "Format Picture".
IMPORTANT: After each page is added, add a piece of text somewhere on the page and colour it white. Excel will not print the page if there is no text. This text is best placed in the top left corner.
The final step is to align the Excel box with the lines on the picture. This can be done by changing the size of the cells on the left side and top of the window.
Now, these steps can be repeated for each page that needs to be added. Make a new worksheet for each new page. To print to PDF, click "File", "Save as Adobe PDF" and save the entire workbook. Click "Convert to PDF" and save to a location.







